ADVERTISE          ARCHIVES          CLASSIFIEDS          CONNECT          PHOTOS          SUBMIT          SUBSCRIBE          E-EDITION
The Caledonian-Record | St. Johnsbury, VT

Auto802 Cars under $15K

home : features : strap in August 20, 2014

2/15/2013 7:27:00 AM
The Sprint Unlimited at Daytona February 16
+ view more photos
After looking through some old victory lane photos, the ACT staff found that Dave Dion was the last driver to receive this Governor's Cup trophy in 1989. They contacted Dave and he found it in storage and mailed it to the office. It was back in victory lane July 12 and, after some photos, will be cleaned and have plates added. When finished, it will have every winner since 1973.


By Big Bigelow

The race formerly known as the Shoot-out will be shown on Fox at 8 p.m. The green flag is scheduled to go into the air at 8:29 p.m. Like when it first started, this event is open to pole winners from the previous season. Provisionals were handed out to any past winners of this event who attempted to qualify for at least one race in 2012.

2012 pole winners are Greg Biffle, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Carl Edwards, Denny Hamlin, Kasey Kahne, Mark Martin, Jeff Gordon, Martin Truex Jr., Tony Stewart, AJ Allmendinger, Aric Almirola, Joey Logano, Marcos Ambrose, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Kyle Busch, and Juan Montoya. Eligible past event winners are Kurt Busch, Kevin Harvick, Bill Elliott, Terry Labonte and Ken Schrader.

I’m hearing Allmendinger, Elliott and Terry Labonte haven’t filed an entry so there’ll be 19 cars in the race.

The fans voted on everything from the starting line-up to how many laps the segments will be, so you’ll have to tune in for all the details.

Shoot-out Tidbits: The number of participants has ranged from a low of seven in 1981 to a high of 28 in 2009. There have been eight multiple winners, Stewart (2001, 2002 and 2007), Dale Earnhardt (1980, 1986, 1988, 1991, 1993, 1995), Dale Jarrett (1996, 2000, 2004), Neil Bonnett (1983-1984), Schrader, (1989-1990), Gordon (1994 and 1997), Earnhardt Jr. (2003 and 2008) and Harvick (2009-2010). Only five times in 32 years has the winner gone on to win the Daytona 500: Bobby Allison (1982), Elliott (1987), Jarrett (1996 and 2000) and Gordon (1997). Bobby Allison, in 1982, is the only driver to sweep The Shout-out, the Daytona 500 and the July Daytona race in the same year. Rusty Wallace (1998), Bonnett (1983-84), Earnhardt (1980), Jarrett (2000 and 2004) and Harvick in 2009 only led the last lap.

Doiron Scores Biggest Career Win in Pass Florida Winter Meltdown 200

Joey Doiron nudged past Joe Boyd with eight laps to go to win the Pro All Stars South Series Super Late Model national season opener February 9 at Auburndale (FL) Speedway. Doiron’s win was his second straight season-opening win after capturing the PASS North opener last year at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.

“This is such a big deal. Last year’s win at Beech Ridge gave us a big boost and I can’t wait to get to Hickory and Oxford,” said an elated Doiron in victory lane. “We’ve always had a decent car when we came down South, but we’ve had terrible luck. I got into the 5 (Boyd) in turn two and he had a chance to get back to me, but we were just a little bit better there at the end.”

After qualifying fastest and leading the most laps, Boyd was happy with a strong effort and glad to come home in second. “This is a brand new Port City race car and I can’t wait to get it to Dillon now. I’m happy, I wanted to win in front of the hometown fans, but we just didn’t quite have enough.”

The most serious accident of the night occurred on lap 60 when Eddie King and DJ Shaw tangled in turn two battling for seventh. The contact resulted in Shaw going up and over King’s left front quarter panel and hood. Shaw was able to continue, but King was done for the night.

Two-time PASS National Champion Ben Rowe looked strong early, but dropped back after contact from Dale Shaw and spun a few laps later.

Results: 1. Joey Doiron, 2. Joe Boyd, 3. Jeff Scofield, 4. Jay Fogleman, 5. Jonathan Guy, 6. Anthony Cataldi, 7. Tate Fogleman, 8. Jean Francois Dery, 9. DJ Shaw, 10. Chad Pierce, 11. Kyle Desousza, 12. Alexandre Gingras, 13. Dale Shaw, 14. Ben Rowe, 15. Spencer Davis, 16. Eddie King, 17. Steve Legendre, 18. Anthony Sergi.

Kyle Busch to Run PASS Race at Autodrome Chaudiere

Kyle Busch will race the second leg of the PASS La Quebecoise Triple Crown at Autodrome Chaudiere in Vallee-Jonction Quebec on August 6. He’ll be running his own No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Super-Late Model Camry.

• Autodrome Chaudiere is a fast quarter-mile banked track where the outside is the preferred line. Or should I say the few ACT Late Model Tour events I witnessed there, those cars liked the top side. Fact is the ACT leader was at a disadvantage having to restart in the inside lane. As far as I know, ACT has never talked about giving the leader lane choice on a restart.

The Canadian fans love their racing up there and the pit area is open to everyone, and I mean anyone. Before, during and after the races you’ll find girls in high heals pushing baby carriages and fans with dogs. You may see some fans wearing flip flops. And, oh ya, most tracks in Canada sell beer in the pits. I may just be making a mid-week trip to Quebec come August.

The Vermont Motorsports Magazine Report

Vermont Motorsports Magazine debuted its new VT Motorsports Magazine Report, February 12 on The podcast is hosted by correspondent Ricky St. Clair, Editor T.J. Ingerson, and founder Justin St. Louis.

The Report offers comprehensive discussion and insight about the various topics seen on and related to local short-track racing. Interviews with drivers, owners, crew chiefs, and other racing personalities will also be featured.

The Report is also available on iOS and Android devices through the MixCloud app. It can also be listened to on

Until Next Week

Every day find someone or something that makes you laugh.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Subscription Login

All Around Power



© The Caledonian-Record News 2012-2013
The Caledonian-Record, 190 Federal St., P.O. Box 8, St. Johnsbury, VT 05819 - 802-748-8121

Terms and Conditions


Privacy Policy


Email Headlines


Contact Us

New & Used Cars for Sale in Vermont:
Cash in on Vermont & New Hampshire's Best Deals at Kingdom Deals